Welcome to a new blog post. Anyone who has followed and known me for a long time knows that I talk a lot about the energy of food. Our body needs food to have energy for the day. In my mind, I like to compare my body to being my vehicle. We also don't fill up our car with the wrong petrol. We would simply ruin our car and it would no longer be roadworthy.

The same goes for your body too. Our bodies work for us 24/7. Without breathing, we wouldn't be here much longer. However, it can only function optimally if it also receives the right fuel. And the right gasoline is different for all of us. What might be right for you may mean the opposite for your loved ones. However, one thing is certain: we all need unprocessed foods such as vegetables, fruits, nuts, seeds and even legumes. These foods should make up by far the largest portion of our diet.

Have you ever heard of: EAT YOUR RAINBOW? Or how important it is to have lots of colors on your plate. The main reason for this is that the many different colors mean that we automatically eat different foods. All of these foods provide our body with valuable nutrients. Always eating only apples or only choosing carrots as a vegetable would not really be right for our body in the long run, even if it is a fruit and a vegetable. It is important that a variety ends up on our plate.

If we look at it from the point of view of energy, then this diversity is especially important for our chakras. Our chakras come in different colors and to support and balance the chakras from a nutritional perspective, it is best to bring a colorful variety to the plate.

What are chakras?

Chakras are energy centers in our body. The term chakra comes from Sanskrit and means wheel. Each of us has seven main chakras, which form a vertical line. From bottom to top there are the Root Chakra (Muladhara Chakra), Sacral Chakra (Swadisthana Chakra), Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura Chakra), Heart Chakra (Anahata Chakra), Throat Chakra (Vishudda Chakra) , the brow chakra (ajna shakra) and the crown chakra (sahasrara chakra). Organs, colors and properties are assigned to each of the chakras.

More about the individual chakras and nutrition

Root Chakra

The color of the root chakra is red. The element of this chakra is earth. This chakra represents strength and grounding.

To keep this chakra in balance with your diet, eat foods that are red in color and have a grounding energy, such as root vegetables like parsnips or beetroot. Other foods that are good for the root chakra are sunflower seeds or pine nuts. In addition, legumes are also considered to support the root chakra.

Sacral Chakra

The color of the sacral chakra is orange. His element is water. It is also the sex chakra and for this reason also stands for sensual energy, for feelings, reproduction and sexuality. Food for the Sacral Chakra should be orange in color. For example melons, sweet potatoes or oranges. Cinnamon is also very supportive of this chakra.

Solar Plexus Chakra

The color yellow belongs to the third chakra. The element of this chakra is fire. This chakra stands for will, motivation and self-confidence. Foods in the color yellow are very supportive for this chakra, such as ginger, bananas, yellow peppers or turmeric. Warm drinks or legumes are also very supportive for this charka. Yellow is a very warm color and that is what this chakra loves. It loves yellow, spicy and warm.

Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is green in color. The element of this chakra is wind. The qualities of the chakra are love and also humanity and healing. The food for the support of this chakra should not only be green, but also light. For example green herbs and salads as well as steamed vegetables.

Throat Chakra

The throat chakra comes with the color blue. Its element is space and its quality is communication and what comes with communication. Self-determination, openness and creativity are part of this charka. Its food should be moisturizing and liquid, as well as nutritious. Seeds such as flaxseed and chia seeds are very supportive of this chakra and blue colored foods. Seaweed and wakame are also good additions. The sweetness of honey is also very wholesome for this chakra.

Brow Chakra

The brow chakra is violet or indigo blue in color. His element is the spirit. The quality of this chakra is intuition, extrasensory perception and also clairvoyance. Food for this chakra are, for example, blackberries, grapes or blueberries. Foods that are dark blue to purple in color are very supportive of this chakra. This chakra loves spicy and blue.

Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is transparent white with violet parts. It belongs to the element of the universe. Its qualities are spirituality and universal consciousness. The food for this chakra should be detoxifying and refreshing. The crown chakra can be nourished particularly well with vegetables and fruits that have been able to soak up the power of the sun. It also likes dried fruits like dates for the sweet taste.

In general it can be said that it is important for our body and its energy centers, the chakras, that we have a colorful variety on our plate. The focus should therefore be on fruits and vegetables. Fresh and unprocessed foods give our body and chakras the best energy so that they are optimally nourished and able to function well.

A wonderful book, I think, is Kimberly Snyder's Beauty Detox Power book. She writes about nutrition, energy, the chakras in this book and has created wonderful recipes to support our chakras which can be found at the back of the book.

The book https://www.weltbild.ch/artikel/buch/beauty-detox-power_21097428-1h is available from Orell Füssli, for example

or to buy at Weltbild

I wish you a wonderful week and all the best